Beki Grinter

Photoshop

In computer science on July 19, 2008 at 5:09 pm

So, today, I am enjoying some quality time with my pictures.  I have the worst possible management system for my digital photos.  Files that I view using Preview (yeah, I’m a long time Mac user, like an OS7 and up user).  It’s not good.  Then I get them into Photoshop and that, to be honest, doesn’t really help either.  Photoshop is drowning in things that I can almost do, and then there’s the majority of things that I can’t do.  But, I persist, and then put the results on flickr which is I suppose my real blog.

I can’t really imagine anyone reading this, so now it’s clearly time to elaborate on RAW.  Normally I shoot JPEG.  Seems to work for the things I want to do, and I can’t really see the reason to take a CF card and reduce the number of potential shots by 4 in order to do RAW.  But, I thought I would give RAW a go.  And, I have to admit that I like the pre-Photoshop image viewer that pops up when RAW materialises.  That’s the first Photoshop experience I’ve ever had where I can say, yeah, that is something I can use.  If only Photoshop was always like that (I know, it’s because there’s more data in the image that you get these controls), but still, just wishing that Photoshop were easier to use.

Aperture arrives next week.  I wonder what that will be like.

Leave a Reply

