Beki Grinter

Thank you Georgia

In academia, academic management, computer science on July 14, 2009 at 4:20 pm

Right now at Georgia Tech the freshmen are coming to visit.  They’re participating in the FASET program (Familiarization and Adaptation to the Surroundings and Environs of Tech). They are here with their families, walking around the campus and learning about Georgia Tech.

And seeing these groups, and looking carefully at the faces, I see all sorts of emotions. There’s excitement, for many of the students I presume it’s the first time they’ve left home. And perhaps a twinge of worry, trepidation. Very natural. For anyone going to University and leaving home, that’s a very understandable set of reactions.

The families, parents, grandparents, guardians, there’s another set of faces. The ones of pride, the smiles that reveal a deep sense of pride in their ward.

I’ve been walking around campus in the course of getting various things done prior to going to Metz, so I’ve encountered quite a few groups, and I see these same faces over and over again. And it’s quite humbling. Here are families entrusting me, as a faculty member, to not just teach their wards, but to do whatever I can to help them learn as much as they possibly can from the University education. And I believe that there’s far more to learn than just what is taught in the classroom.

So, I am entrusted with this responsibility and this privilege, I promise to do my best.

I also wanted to say (since I have a tendency to write about academic management) that students are the most fabulous mission statement that I’ve ever encountered. Everytime I see a student I am reminded of a fundamental mission, to educate, and all that that means. Many companies I have worked for had mission statements, many of them were largely vacuous if they were comprehensible. Seeing a student makes the mission very clear in a way that I never encountered in the corporate sector.

Thank you Georgia.

Leave a Reply

