Beki Grinter

Ignore it: A Strategy for Dealing with Email

In social media on November 15, 2010 at 11:01 am

Thanks to those who responded to my email posts.

Along the way I learnt about another strategy which is to ignore it. OK, I do that too. Ouch, that’s hard to say, it’s one of the times when I wish I had an anonymous blog, but that’s an entirely different post.

So, now to back up a bit. I do in fact just ignore some of it, if not permanently, at least for a while. I think that’s as much related to not knowing how to deal with it as it is with not wanting to deal with it. Sometimes, if I get really lucky it’s a group message and someone else does deal with it. Sometimes it’s important not to be a first responder.

Occasionally, and somewhat embarrassingly sometimes it gets lost in my inbox and enough time elapses that clearly it has been dealt with. What I mean is that the deadline by which the email made sense to respond to passes. Whoops. Silence becomes the decision, sometimes that’s also “dropping the ball.” I am now wincing, but continuing under the belief that I am not alone in this practice.

There’s another category too, which is ignoring it even though I want to respond to it. The faculty have a discussion list which I very much enjoy, and am glad we have. But sometimes I decide that in terms of time allocation it’s not a good idea for me to respond to a message. So, I ignore that opportunity.

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by James Landay, Beki Grinter. Beki Grinter said: email, ignoring it http://wp.me/phSsV-Cb […]

Leave a Reply

