Beki Grinter

New Year Resolution

In academia, computer science, discipline, research on January 2, 2011 at 9:16 pm

I don’t make New Year resolutions, mainly because I don’t feel that I have time to make the resolutions before the New Year is upon me. It’s not to say that I don’t think about making them, just that I feel that when that time of the year comes around there’s not enough time to make them.

Feeling like I do not have enough time to get everything I want to get done is a challenge I’ve faced since I was in graduate school. Graduate school was the first time that I can recall routinely feeling that there was more to be done than I could ever get done. It was the place where I first started carrying papers to read in my bag which would “age in place.” If I still had them in the bag some of them would be adults by now. Instead some of the adults got read and filed, others, well they got put in the “to read” stack. Then every few years I purge that stack. More recently, I decided to move some of my reading online to my iPad, and now I see a similar unread stack building up.

So, this year, while my ill formed New Year resolutions still include making more time for reading, I think the most important one I have is to come to terms with the fact that I can’t possibly do everything that I think needs to be done. This year, I resolve to be more realistic about time. It’s either that or I need to start on a project to squeeze more time out of the 24 hour day.

Leave a Reply

