Beki Grinter

iPad Day2: The Transition Plan

In research on April 4, 2010 at 4:17 pm

Today has been a day to learn about peoples transition plans.

Perhaps not unsurprisingly, I have friends who couldn’t wait for the 3G model and got an iPad yesterday but will then buy the 3G version when it comes out. Tells you something about my friends.

So, they need a transition plan, and those plans are starting to appear…

Mainly they involve the passage of the original, non-3G device to someone in their technological gifting network. And this reminds me of some of the work that Erika Poole has been doing looking at social networks for help with home networks. What she has elucidated through a series of studies and more controlled interventions is the nature of these networks, where help givers provide assistance to those who seek help with aspects of technology.

I wonder whether the help networks are actually also at least to some extent technological gifting networks. My guess would be a subset (probably don’t buy and give appliances to each person in the network, but a smaller percentage are possible recipients).

So, to all of the people I know who are holding out for 3G without an iPad until then, I suggest that you identify someone who you’d like to give a slightly worn iPad too in about a month’s time. They’ll appreciate it, and you’ll feel better with one in your hands now.

  1. It’s like you’re in my head.

Leave a comment